Vedic Astrology: Signs or Rashis

The Zodiac According to Indian Tradition

Bhadrasana - Throne Pose
Bhadrasana - Throne Pose. Getty Images

Signs are called "Rashis" (raw-shees) in Sanskrit. This table shows the signs with their rulers, Sanskrit names and symbols, etc. As you can see, the signs are the same as used in Western astrology. However, the nature of the signs, what they do, and the demigods behind them, who control them, are vastly different in Vedic astrology.

Sign Sanskrit Name Type Sex Modality Lord
Aries Mesha Ram Fire M Moveable Mars
Taurus Vrishaba Bull Earth F Fixed Venus
Gemini Mithuna Couple Air M Common Mercury
Cancer Karkata Crab Water F Moveable Moon
Leo Simha Lion Fire M Fixed Sun
Virgo Kanya Virgin Earth F Common Mercury
Libra Tula Balance Air M Moveable Venus
Scorpio Vrishchika Scorpion Water F Fixed Mars
Sagittarius Dhanus Bow Fire M Common Jupiter
Capricorn Makara Alligator Earth F Moveable Saturn
Aquarius Kumbha Pot Air M Fixed Saturn
Pisces Meena Fishes Water F Common Jupiter

Note: Vedic astrology differs from Western or Tropical astrology mainly in that it uses the fixed zodiac as opposed to the moving zodiac. Most people's "Sun Sign", that which you can get from the newspaper each day, is usually one sign back when the chart is refigured using Vedic astrology. So, the first surprise using the Vedic system is that you are no longer the Sun Sign you always thought you were. However, if you were born in the last 5 days or so of the Western sign month, then you will probably still be the same sign in the Vedic system.

mla apa chicago
Your Citation
Das, Subhamoy. "Vedic Astrology: Signs or Rashis." Learn Religions, Aug. 26, 2020, Das, Subhamoy. (2020, August 26). Vedic Astrology: Signs or Rashis. Retrieved from Das, Subhamoy. "Vedic Astrology: Signs or Rashis." Learn Religions. (accessed June 5, 2023).