The 10 Commandments

From KJV Exodus Chapter 20

There is not one single, universally accepted version of the 10 Commandments. Most of the reason for this is that although the number of Commandments is said to be 10, there are actually about 14 or 15 instructions, so division into the 10 differs from one religious group to the next. The ranked order of the statement also varies. The following list of the Commandments comes from the King James Version of the Bible, specifically Chapter 20 of the book of Exodus. There are also some comparisons with other versions.

of 10

Thou Shalt Have No Gods Before Me

Moses descending from Mount Sinai with the tablets of the law (Ten Commandments), 1866. (Photo by Ann Ronan Pictures/Print Collector/Getty Images)

20:2 I am the LORD thy God, which have brought thee out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage.

20:3 Thou shalt have no other gods before me.

of 10

Thou Shalt Not Make Graven Images

Moses Breaking the Golden Calf
Image ID: 426482Full-page miniature with rubric, showing Moses breaking the idol of the golden calf. (1445). NYPL Digital Gallery

20:4 Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth.

20:5 Thou shalt not bow down thyself to them, nor serve them: for I the LORD thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the third and fourth generation of them that hate me;

20:6 And shewing mercy unto thousands of them that love me, and keep my commandments.

of 10

Thou Shalt Not Take the Lord's Name in Vain

20:7 Thou shalt not take the name of the LORD thy God in vain; for the LORD will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name in vain.

of 10

Remember to Keep Holy the Sabbath

20:8 Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy.

20:9 Six days shalt thou labour, and do all thy work:

20:10 But the seventh day is the sabbath of the LORD thy God: in it thou shalt not do any work, thou, nor thy son, nor thy daughter, thy manservant, nor thy maidservant, nor thy cattle, nor thy stranger that is within thy gates:

20:11 For in six days the LORD made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that in them is, and rested the seventh day: wherefore the LORD blessed the sabbath day, and hallowed it.

of 10

Honor Thy Father and Thy Mother

20:12 Honour thy father and thy mother: that thy days may be long upon the land which the LORD thy God giveth thee.

of 10

Thou Shalt Not Kill

20:13 Thou shalt not kill.

In the Septuagint version (LXX), the 6th commandment is:

20:13. Thou shalt not commit adultery.
of 10

Thou Shalt Not Commit Adultery

20:14 Thou shalt not commit adultery.

In the Septuagint version (LXX), the 7th commandment is:

20:14. Thou shalt not steal.
of 10

Thou Shalt Not Steal

20:15 Thou shalt not steal.

In the Septuagint version (LXX), the 8th commandment is:

20:15. Thou shalt not kill.
of 10

Thou Shalt Not Bear False Witness

20:16 Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbour.

of 10

Thou Shalt Not Covet

20:17 Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour's house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbour's wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that is thy neighbour's.

mla apa chicago
Your Citation
Gill, N.S. "The 10 Commandments." Learn Religions, Sep. 12, 2021, Gill, N.S. (2021, September 12). The 10 Commandments. Retrieved from Gill, N.S. "The 10 Commandments." Learn Religions. (accessed March 20, 2023).