Biography of Christian Hard Rock Band Skillet


Skillet was originally formed in Memphis, Tennessee, in 1996 with two members: John Cooper (who had been the lead singer for the Tennessee progressive rock band Seraph) and Ken Steorts (former guitarist for Urgent Cry).

Drummer Trey McClurkin came in to complete the line-up for the original band. Over the years, band members have come and gone (with the exception of John) and their sound has changed and evolved, but as any panhead can attest, they just keep getting better.

Visit Skillet's Official Website

Skillet Members

These are the current Skillet band members:

  • John Cooper – lead vocals, bass
  • Korey Cooper – keyboard, vocals, rhythm guitar, synthesizer
  • Jen Ledger – drums, backing vocals
  • Seth Morrison – lead guitar - joined in 2011

These are former members of Skillet:

  • Ken Steorts - lead and rhythm guitar (1996–1999)
  • Kevin Haaland - lead guitar (1999–2001)
  • Jonathan Salas - lead guitar (2011)
  • Trey McClurkin - drums (1996–2000)
  • Lori Peters - drums (2000–2008)
  • Ben Kasica - lead guitar (2001-2011)

Skillet, The Early Years

After Seraph and Urgent Cry broke up, John Cooper and Ken Steorts' pastor talked the two of them into joining forces to form a new band.

They called themselves Skillet because they came from such different musical backgrounds that they felt like they were throwing everything into a skillet to see what they could cook up.

Drummer Trey McClurkin rounded out the trio and in mere weeks, Forefront Records had signed them.

Skillet Discography

  • Unleashed, 2016
  • Rise, 2013
  • Awake: Deluxe Edition, 2009
  • Awake, 2009
  • Comatose Comes Alive, 2006 (CD/DVD combo)
  • COMATOSE: Deluxe Edition, 2006 (CD/DVD combo) 
  • Comatose, 2006 - (Certified RIAA Gold 11/03/2009)
  • Collide Enhanced, 2004 
  • Collide, 2003
  • Alien Youth, 2001
  • Ardent Worship Live, 2000
  • Invincible, 2000
  • Hey You, I Love Your Soul, 1998
  • Skillet, 1996

Skillet Starter Songs

  • "Alien Youth"
  • "Best Kept Secret"
  • "Boundaries"
  • "Collide"
  • "Eating Me Away"
  • "Energy"
  • "Forsaken"
  • "Savior"
  • "The Last Night"
  • "Vapor"
  • "Your Name Is Holy"

See these Skillet songs for a list of some of the best.

Skillet Awards

Dove Awards

  • 2015 - Skillet wins the Dove Rock Song of the Year
  • 2013 - Skillet wins the Dove Rock Song of the Year
  • 2012 - Skillet Gets Two Dove Nods
  • 2010 - Nominated for Group of the Year, Artist of the Year, Rock Song of the Year
  • 2008 - Winner of Rock Recorded Song of the Year and nominated for Modern Rock Album of the Year and Artist of the Year
  • 2007 - Nominated for Rock Album of the Year


  • 2008 nominee, Best Rock or Rap Gospel Album: Comatose
  • 2005 nominee, Best Rock Gospel Album: Collide

Other Awards

  • 2011 BMI Christian Music Awards Winners
  • Billboard Music Award - 2011 Top Christian Album winner, 2012 double nominee

Skillet on TV and in the Movies

  • "Awake and Alive" was on the soundtrack for Transformers: Dark of the Moon. It was used for the November 2009 promo for the soap opera, One Life to Live.
  • "Best Kept Secret" and "Invincible" appeared in the movie Carman: The Champion.
  • "Come on to the Future" and "Invincible" were featured on the soundtrack for the movie Extreme Days.
  • "Hero" was used for the trailers of the 20th century Fox Film Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief.
  • "You Are My Hope" and "A Little More" were featured in two episodes of the CBS show Joan of Arcadia.
  • "You Are My Hope" was featured on CW show America's Next Top Model.

Skillet and Sports

  • "Hero" (from Awake) was used in the TV commercials for the NFL on NBC; it was the theme song for WWE Tribute to the Troops and Royal Rumble 2010 and it was played throughout the 2009 World Series (game 3).
  • "Monster" (also from Awake) was used in the episode "Jason: The Pretty-Boy Bully" on MTV's Bully Beatdown as well as on the WWE event 'WWE Hell in a Cell 2009'.
  • "Hero" and "Monster" were both included on the official soundtrack for the WWE video game WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2010.
  • "Rebirthing" is the theme song for the Philadelphia Flyers when they hit the ice.

Skillet and Video Games

  • "A Little More" can be added to the Christian video game "Dance Praise" via the Dance Praise- Expansion Pack Volume 3: Pop & Rock Hits.
  • "Hero" and "Monster" are on the "WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2010" soundtrack.
  • "Monster" is a downloadable track in Rock Band 2.
  • "The Older I Get," "Savior," and "Rebirthing" can be played on the Christian Video Game "Guitar Praise" for PCs or Macs.
mla apa chicago
Your Citation
Jones, Kim. "Biography of Christian Hard Rock Band Skillet." Learn Religions, Aug. 25, 2020, Jones, Kim. (2020, August 25). Biography of Christian Hard Rock Band Skillet. Retrieved from Jones, Kim. "Biography of Christian Hard Rock Band Skillet." Learn Religions. (accessed June 10, 2023).