Phil Wickham Biography

Including a Discography and Other Resources

Phil Wickham
Phil Wickham (2014).

Fair Trade Services

Phil Wickham Born

Philip David Wickham was born on April 5, 1984, in San Diego, California to John and Lisa, former members of the Christian band, Parable.

He is the second of three kids, with an older brother, Evan (who is also a Christian music singer), and a younger sister, Jillian.

A Quote by Phil Wickham

"When I was 18, I cut my first independent record. I was hoping people would think I sounded a little above mediocre. I guess it came out a lot better than that, though."

Taken from an interview with CBN.

Phil Wickham's Biography

Born into a musical family, Phil's earliest years were spent surrounded by Christian music. With his parents encouraging him, he learned all of the popular worship songs and then started writing his own. That led to him leading worship for his youth group when he was 13.

At 18, Phil recorded an independent project and it started attracting the attention of the record labels. He signed with Simple Records, the boutique label that MercyMe frontman Bart Millard and producer Pete Kipley started, after releasing Give You My World in 2003.

Phil released his first album with Simple Records in 2006. The second he released with them was Cannons, which was inspired by cannon explosions and C.S. Lewis's book called The Voyage of the Dawn Treader from The Chronicles of Narnia series. According to Phil, the album is "about how the universe is exploding with the glory of God, and how we are compelled to join in with its song." 

In Phil's second album, the 10th track, "Jesus Lord of Heaven," has been translated into seven languages since its release.

Between 2006 and 2007, Phil toured on the "Coming Up to Breathe" tour with Audio Adrenaline and MercyMe. In the fall of 2007, he, the David Crowder Band, and The Myriad toured on the Remedy tour.

In 2008, Phil released his first live worship album titled Singalong that he recorded in front of a live audience of 3000. Phile released the album for free through his website, and it garnered more than 8,000 downloads in just a single week. 

For the next five years, he stayed with Simple Records, releasing his final CD with them, a Christmas project, in 2010. That too was only available as a digital download through his website. Phil then released other similar live albums in 2012 and 2015.

The following year, Phil came out with a new album under the Fair Trade Services umbrella, and he's been with them ever since.

Phil released his first single called "Your Love Awakens Me" from his Children of God album in 2016.

Phil Wickham's Personal Life

On November 2, 2008, Phil and Mallory Plotnik, his longtime girlfriend, got married. The couple has three daughters, two of whom are Penelope, born September 8, 2011, and Mabel, who was born July 2013.

Phil Wickham Trivia/News

Phil Wickham Starter Songs

  • "Heaven Song" 
  • "Always Forever" 
  • "Messiah / You're Beautiful" 
  • "Safe" 
  • "Sun & Moon"
  • "In Your City" 
  • "I'll Always Love You" 
  • "The Ascension"
  • "Divine Romance"
  • "Jesus Lord of Heaven"

Phil Wickham Discography

  • Children of God, 2016
  • Singalong 3, 2015
  • The Ascension (Deluxe Edition), 2014
  • The Ascension, 2013
  • Singalong 2 (live), 2012 (independent)
  • Response, 2011
  • Songs For Christmas, 2010
  • Heaven & Earth: Expanded Edition, 2010
  • Heaven & Earth, 2009 Compare prices
  • Singalong (live), 2008 (independent)
  • Cannons, 2007
  • Phil Wickham, 2006
  • Give You My World, 2003 (independent)

Where to Find Phil Wickham Online

mla apa chicago
Your Citation
Jones, Kim. "Phil Wickham Biography." Learn Religions, Feb. 8, 2021, Jones, Kim. (2021, February 8). Phil Wickham Biography. Retrieved from Jones, Kim. "Phil Wickham Biography." Learn Religions. (accessed June 3, 2023).