108 Names of the Goddess Durga

A statue of the Goddess Durga
Sharell Cook

Goddess Durga is the mother of the universe according to Hindu belief. There are many incarnations of Durga: Kali, Bhagvati, Bhavani, Ambika, Lalita, Gauri, Kandalini, Java, Rajeswari, et al. Her nine appellations are Skondamata, Kusumanda, Shailaputri, Kaalratri, Brahmacharini, Maha Gauri, Katyayani, Chandraghanta, and Siddhidatri.

108 Names From the Devi Mahatmya (Chandi)

According to the scriptures, Lord Shiva called the Mother Goddess Durga in 108 names in order to please her. During Navaratri and Durga Puja, devotees utter prayers in the 108 names of the Goddess. These names appear in the Purana called ​Devi Mahatmyam or Devi Mahatmya (The Glory of the Goddess) that narrates the story of Goddess Durga's battle and eventual victory over the demon king Mahishasura. Composed around 400–500 CE in Sanskrit by the ancient Indian sage Markandeya, this Hindu scripture is also known as the Durga Saptashat or simply the Chandi.

  1. Aadya: The primordial reality
  2. Aarya: The Goddess
  3. Abhavya: The fearful Goddess
  4. Aeindri: The one who is powered Lord Indra
  5. Agnijwala: The one who is capable of spewing fire
  6. Ahankara: The one who is full of pride
  7. Ameyaa: The one who is beyond any measure
  8. Anantaa: The one who is infinite and immeasurable
  9. Aja: The one who has no birth
  10. Anekashastrahasta: The possessor of a many weaponed hand
  11. AnekastraDhaarini: The one who holds multiple weapons
  12. Anekavarna: The one who has multiple complexions
  13. Aparna: The one who abstains from eating even leaves while fasting
  14. Apraudha: The one who never ages
  15. Bahula: The one who has diverse forms and manifestations
  16. Bahulaprema: The one who is loved by all
  17. Balaprada: The giver of strength
  18. Bhavini: The beautiful one
  19. Bhavya: The one who stands for the future
  20. Bhadrakaali: The gentle form of Goddess Kali
  21. Bhavani: The mother of the universe
  22. Bhavamochani: The one who is the liberator of the universe
  23. Bhavaprita: The one who is adored by the entire universe
  24. Bhavya: The one who has magnificence
  1. Brahmi: The one who has the power of Lord Brahma
  2. Brahmavadini: The one who is omnipresent
  3. Buddhi: The embodiment of intelligence
  4. Buddhida: The one who bestows wisdom
  5. Chamunda: The killer of the demons called Chanda and Munda
  6. Chandi: The fearful form of Durga        
  7. Chandraghanta: The one who has mighty bells
  8. Chinta: The one who takes care of tension
  9. Chita: The one who prepares the death-bed
  10. Chiti: The one who has a mind that thinks          
  11. Chitra: The one with the quality of being picturesque
  12. Chittarupa: The one who is in a state of thought
  13. Dakshakanya: The one known to be the daughter of Daksha
  14. Dakshayajñavinaashini: The one who interrupts the sacrifice of Daksha
  15. Devamata: The one who is known as the Mother Goddess
  16. Durga: The one who is unconquerable
  17. Ekakanya: The one who is known to be the girl child
  18. Ghorarupa: The one who has an aggressive outlook
  19. Gyaana: The one who is the embodiment of knowledge
  20. Jalodari: The one who is the abode of the ethereal universe
  21. Jaya: The one who emerges as the victorious
  1. Kaalaratri: The Goddess who is black like night
  2. Kaishori : The one who is an adolescent
  3. Kalamanjiiraranjini: The one who wears a musical anklet
  4. Karaali: The one who is violent
  5. Katyayani: The one who is worshipped by sage Katyanan
  6. Kaumaari: The one who is an adolescent
  7. Komaari: The one known to be a beautiful adolescent
  8. Kriya: The one who is in action
  9. Krooraa: The one who is murderous on demons
  10. Lakshmi: The Goddess of Wealth
  11. Maheshwari: The one who possesses the power of Lord Mahesha
  12. Maatangi: The Goddess of Matanga
  13. MadhuKaitabhaHantri: The one who killed the demon-duo Madhu and Kaitabha
  14. Mahaabala: The one who has immense strength
  15. Mahatapa: The one with severe penance
  16. MahishasuraMardini: The destroyer of the bull-demon Mahishaasura
  17. Mahodari: The one who has a huge belly which stores the universe
  18. Manah: The one with a mind
  19. Matangamunipujita: The one who is worshipped by the Sage Matanga
  20. Muktakesha: The one who flaunts open tresses
  21. Narayani: The one known to be the destructive aspect of Lord Narayana (Brahma)
  1. NishumbhaShumbhaHanani: The killer of the demon-brothers Shumbha Nishumbha
  2. Nitya: The one known as The Eternal
  3. Paatala: The one with the color red
  4. Paatalavati: The one who is clothed in red
  5. Parameshvari: The one known as the Ultimate Goddess
  6. Pattaambaraparidhaana: The one who wears a dress made out of leather
  7. Pinaakadharini: The one who holds the trident of Shiva
  8. Pratyaksha: The one who is original
  9. Praudha: The one who is old
  10. Purushaakriti: The one who takes the shape of a man
  11. Ratnapriya: The one who is adorned or loved by jewels
  12. Raudramukhi: The one who has a frightening face like the destroyer Rudra
  13. Saadhvi: The one who is self-confident
  14. Sadagati: The one who is always in motion, bestowing Moksha (salvation)
  15. Sarvaastradhaarini: The one who possesses all the missile weapons
  16. Sarvadaanavaghaatini: The one who possesses the power to kill all the demons
  17. Sarvamantramayi: The one who possesses all the instruments of thought
  18. Sarvashaastramayi: The one who is skillful in all theories
  19. Sarvasuravinasha: The one who is the destroyer of all demons
  1. Sarvavahanavahana: The one who rides all vehicles
  2. Sarvavidya: The one who is knowledgeable
  3. Sati: The one who got burned alive
  4. Satta: The one who is above all beings
  5. Satya: The one who resembles truth
  6. Satyanandasvarupini: The one who has the form of eternal bliss
  7. Savitri: The one who is the daughter of the Sun God Savitri
  8. Shaambhavi: The one who is the companion of Shambhu
  9. Shivadooti: The one who is the ambassador of Lord Shiva
  10. Shooldharini: The one who holds a monodent
  11. Sundari: The one who is gorgeous
  12. Sursundari: The one who is extremely beautiful
  13. Tapasvini: The one who is engaged in repentance
  14. Trinetra: The one who has three-eyes
  15. Vaarahi: The one who rides on Varaah
  16. Vaishnavi: The one who is invincible
  17. Vandurga: The one known as the Goddess of Forests
  18. Vikrama: The one who is violent
  19. Vimalauttkarshini: The one who provides joy
  20. Vishnumaya: The one who is the charm of Lord Vishnu
  21. Vriddhamaata: The one known as the old mother
  22. Yati: The one who renounces the world or the ascetic
  23. Yuvati: The one who is a young woman