What Are the 7 Major Chakras?

An Introduction to the Basics of Chakras

Chakra Colored Pinwheel
Chakra Colored Pinwheel. Miguel Rosan / Getty Images

Chakras are an individual's energy centers that are associated with physical, mental and emotional interactions. They are the openings in a person's aura that allows life energy to flow into and out of. The function of a chakra is to vitalize the physical body and to bring about the development of self-consciousness. 

Chakras have been depicted as a funnel of sorts with smaller funnels within the funnel. They are also often referred to as looking like lotus flowers

The 7 major chakras are root, sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, brow and crown. Read on to learn the colors associated with each chakra and the purposes they serve. 

Root Chakra

Associated with the color red, the root chakra serves to align the mind with the physical body. In other words, to bring you down to earth when you're spacing off. Thus, the root chakra "roots" an individual in earth energies.

This chakra is physically located at the base of the spine. Lower back pain, depression, or disorders related to the immune system may be a sign that one's root chakra is imbalanced.

If that is the case, foods that nourish the root chakra include carrots, parsnips, radishes, onions, soy products, hot paprika and cayenne pepper.

Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is linked to the color orange or red-orange. This chakra emanates creative energies that nurture inventive ideas. It is located between the lower abdomen and the navel. Sacral chakra is also related to the emotions tied to blame, guilt, money, sex, power, control, creativity and morality. 

Solar Plexus Chakra

As you can probably guess from the name "solar," this chakra is connected to the color yellow, like a bright sun at high noon. The solar plexus chakra cultivates a person's self-esteem and ego and is typically developed during puberty. Additionally, whenever someone speaks of a gut feeling, that is the solar plexus chakra at work.

Solar plexus chakras can influence emotional issues such as fear of rejection, sensitivity to criticism and indecisiveness. The spiritual lesson that can be derived from a strong solar plexus chakra is to accept one's place in the life stream and to emanate self-love.

Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is associated with green or pink colors. It is the center of love in our physical and emotional bodies. As the name implies, the heart chakra is located at the center of the chest by the heart organ.

Heart conditions, issues with the lungs, breast cancer and upper back problems may be symptoms of a wounded heart chakra. Breads, flax seed, dairy products, mints and turmeric are a few of the foods that can help balance a heart chakra.

Throat Chakra

Connected with the color sky blue, the throat chakra is the center of will and truth. Being open and honestly expressing oneself can ensure a healthy a throat chakra. On the other hand, being dishonest or false infects the energy flow of the throat chakra. When the throat chakra shuts down, one loses his or her authenticity. A strong throat chakra can teach one to take responsibility for his or her own needs.

Brow (Third-Eye) Chakra

The brow chakra, also called the third-eye, is linked to the color indigo. Wearing indigo colored clothing can remind the subconscious to be more aware of and strengthen the brow chakra. Located at the center of the forehead, the brow chakra is a center of wisdom and the ability to learn. While this chakra prompts dreaming, it also allows one to separate reality from fantasy. 

The brow chakra influences the brain, neurological system, eyes, ears, nose and pituitary of the physical body. Berries, red grapes, lavender, poppy seed, mugwort and red wine are foods that nourish the third-eye.

Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is associated with the color violet or white. It is the center of spiritual connection and the chakra that ignites spiritual awakening. Often represented in art as a lotus flower, the crown chakra is located at the top and center of the head.

The crown chakra can get cluttered, so many turn to fasting, detoxing or smudging to clear the path of this energy flow. Amber, diamond and moldavite are stones that can help balance the crown chakra.

Disclaimer: The information contained on this site is intended for educational purposes only and is not a substitute for advice, diagnosis or treatment by a licensed physician. You should seek prompt medical care for any health issues and consult your doctor before using alternative medicine or making a change to your regimen.


mla apa chicago
Your Citation
Desy, Phylameana lila. "What Are the 7 Major Chakras?" Learn Religions, Feb. 16, 2021, learnreligions.com/learning-about-chakras-1724459. Desy, Phylameana lila. (2021, February 16). What Are the 7 Major Chakras? Retrieved from https://www.learnreligions.com/learning-about-chakras-1724459 Desy, Phylameana lila. "What Are the 7 Major Chakras?" Learn Religions. https://www.learnreligions.com/learning-about-chakras-1724459 (accessed March 27, 2023).