Abrahamic / Middle Eastern Islam Halal Eating and Drinking Rules and tips for a halal lifestyle Share Flipboard Email Print Islam Important Principles Prayer Salat Prophets of Islam The Quran Ramadan and Eid Al Fitr Hajj and Eid Al Adha By Huda Islam Expert M.Ed., Loyola University–Maryland B.S., Child Development, Oregon State University Huda is an educator, school administrator, and author who has more than two decades of experience researching and writing about Islam online. our editorial process Huda Updated July 03, 2019 Muslims follow a set of dietary laws which are outlined in the Qur'an. Everything is permitted (halal), except what God specifically prohibited (haram). Muslims do not consume pork or alcohol, and follow a humane process for the slaughter of animals for meat. Within these rules, there is wide variation among the eating habits of Muslims around the world. Rules and Tips Halal food - Moroccan fish. Getty Images / Veronica Garbutt Muslims are allowed to eat what is "good" - that is, what is pure, clean, wholesome, nourishing, and pleasing to the taste. In general, everything is allowed (halal) except what has been specifically forbidden. Muslims are enjoined by their religion to abstain from eating certain foods. This is in the interest of health and cleanliness, and in obedience to God. Here are some tips on following Islamic law when eating at home or on the road. Islamic Dietary LawUsing Ingredient ListsAlcohol in IslamHalal Certification Glossary Some Islamic terms originate in the Arabic language. Not sure what they mean? Check the definitions below: HalalHaramZabihahSuhoorIftar Recipes Muslims hail from nearly every continent, and within the Islamic dietary guidelines is room for a variety of cuisines. Enjoy some old favorites, or try something new and exotic!