Biography of Fernando Ortega, Christian Singer

Fernando Ortega
Fernando Ortega

Fernando Ortega Born

Juan Fernando Ortega was born on March 2, 1957, in Albuquerque, New Mexico, the son of Ambrosio and Eva Ortega.

Quote From Fernando Ortega

"My records have always been about how the Gospels find expression in a person's everyday life -- the sorrowful, the mundane, the joyful."

From a 2006 press release

Fernando Ortega - The Early Years

Fernando Ortega's family lived in Chimayo, New Mexico (a village near the banks of the Rio Grande) for eight generations, working as artisans and weavers. It is from that heritage, as well as his classical training at The University of New Mexico, that his unique sound comes from. Travel was a large part of his early life as his father worked for the US Department of State. 

From the late 1970′s to the early 1990's, he served in music ministry at a number of churches of various denominations including a Baptist church in Albuquerque, Congregational Christian and Assemblies of God churches in southern California, and First Evangelical Free Church of Fullerton, Calif. which was pastored by Chuck Swindoll at the time. In the late 2000s, he and his wife, Margee, joined the Anglican Church before returning home to the Evangelical Free Church.

Fernando Ortega Trivia

Alison Krauss joined him on his 2006 release, The Shadow Of Your Wings: Hymns and Sacred Songs, singing on "Sing to Jesus."

Fernando Ortega's Big Break

Ortega recorded several albums for two small labels before signing to Myrrh/Word and releasing This Bright Hour in 1997. Another major turning point in his career was in 1999 when he was able to tour with a band for the first time. Though he loved the ministering part, according to a 2015 interview, he was never comfortable with the CCM label, feeling as though the truly sacred music was frequently left out. 

Fernando Ortega - Discography

  • Come Down O Love Divine, 2011 
  • Christmas Songs, 2008
  • The Shadow of Your Wings: Hymns and Sacred Songs, 2006 Compare Prices
  • Fernando Ortega, 2004
  • Hymns of Worship, 2003
  • Storm, 2002 
  • Camino Largo, 2001
  • Home, 2000
  • The Breaking of the Dawn, 1998
  • This Bright Hour, 1997
  • Night of Your Return, 1995
  • Hymns and Meditations, 1994
  • Meditations Encore, 1994
  • Meditations of the Heart, 1993
  • In a Welcome Field, 1991

Essential Fernando Ortega Starter Songs

  • "Sing to Jesus"
  • "Great Is Thy Faithfulness"
  • "Grace and Peace (2 Thessalonians 1:2)"
  • "Oh God, You are My God (Psalm 63)"
  • "Children Of The Living God"
  • "O Thou, In Whose Presence"

Fernando Ortega News & Notes

mla apa chicago
Your Citation
Jones, Kim. "Biography of Fernando Ortega, Christian Singer." Learn Religions, Aug. 25, 2020, Jones, Kim. (2020, August 25). Biography of Fernando Ortega, Christian Singer. Retrieved from Jones, Kim. "Biography of Fernando Ortega, Christian Singer." Learn Religions. (accessed March 26, 2023).