What are the Divine Names on the Kabbalah Tree of Life?

The Hebrew Names of God Describe His Qualities

Kabbalah Tree of Life names
Each of the names of God in Kabbalah represents one of God's characteristics. Jobalou/Getty Images

In the mystical faith of Kabbalah, different archangels and the angelic orders, they supervise work together to express God's divine energy to human beings. The Tree of Life illustrates the ways God has designed energy to flow within creation, and how angels express that energy throughout the universe. Each of the tree's branches (called "sephirot") corresponds to a divine name that the angels declare as they express the creative energy.

Here are the divine names on each of the Tree of Life's branches:

* Kether (the Crown): Eheieh (I Am)

* Chokmah or Hokmah (wisdom): Jehovah (The Lord)

* Binah (understanding): Jehovah Elohim (The Lord God)

* Chesed or Hesed (mercy): El (The Mighty One)

* Geburah (strength): Eloh (The Almighty)

* Tiphareth or Tifereth (beauty): Eloah Va-Daath (God Manifest)

* Netzach (eternity): Jehovah Sabaoth (Lord of Hosts)

* Hod (glory): Elohim Sabaoth (God of Hosts)

* Yesod (the foundation): El Chai (Mighty Living One)

* Malkuth or Malkhuth (the kingdom): Adonai he-Aretz (Lord of Earth)