Archangels of the Four Directions

How to Pray to Angels Uriel, Michael, Raphael, and Gabriel for Balance

Compass with light bursting out of it.

Baris Simsek / Getty Images

God has assigned four of his archangels to be in charge of the four cardinal points on Earth, believers say, directing their energy toward helping human beings balance different parts of their lives harmoniously. These angels are known as the "Archangels of the Four Directions" or "Four Corners" or "Four Winds". They are Uriel (north), Michael (south), Raphael (east), and Gabriel (west).

The Four Directions

The concept of archangels governing Earth's four cardinal points comes from interpretations of passages in the Bible and Torah (such as Zechariah 2:6, Daniel 7:2, and Matthew 24:31) in which God mentions four winds of heaven. Just as God has created four directions on Earth that you can navigate physically with a compass, he has given his messengers—angels—to guide you spiritually.

Different aspects of life have come to be traditionally associated with the four directions on our planet—north, south, east, and west—and the different types of energy that archangels send to humans from heaven to Earth through light rays.

The four archangels that are traditionally associated with the four directions are also believed to be working with cherubim angels in heaven as security guards around the four metaphysical corners of God's throne.

A Famous Bedtime Prayer

A traditional Jewish prayer called the "Kriat Shma" describes the archangels of the four directions and asks for their blessing of protection and guidance during sleep and dreams. Part of the prayer says:

"To my right Michael and to my left Gabriel, in front of me Uriel and behind me Raphael, and over my head the Shekhinah [God's presence through his Holy Spirit]."

Uriel of the North

Archangel Uriel represents the northern direction. Uriel specializes in helping with knowledge and wisdom. Some practical ways Uriel can help you include discovering God's wisdom, developing confidence in yourself, and motivating you to serve others.

South: Michael

Archangel Michael represents the southern direction. Michael specializes in helping with truth and courage. Some practical ways Michael can help you include supporting you during a crisis, reassuring you that God and his angels care for you, and showing you God's purposes for your life.

East: Raphael

Archangel Raphael represents the eastern direction. Raphael specializes in helping with healing body, mind, and spirit. Some practical ways Raphael can help you include giving you new information or ideas that promote better health, urging you to enjoy time in nature, and guiding you to restore broken relationships in your life.

West: Gabriel

Archangel Gabriel represents the western direction. Gabriel specializes in helping with understanding God's messages. Some practical ways Gabriel can help you include guiding you to plan for the future, revealing how to solve problems, and communicating God's wisdom to you through dreams.

mla apa chicago
Your Citation
Hopler, Whitney. "Archangels of the Four Directions." Learn Religions, Apr. 5, 2023, Hopler, Whitney. (2023, April 5). Archangels of the Four Directions. Retrieved from Hopler, Whitney. "Archangels of the Four Directions." Learn Religions. (accessed May 29, 2023).